(WJBK) - Authorities are reminding drivers in Michigan to move over for first responders on the freeway.
Michigan's Move Over law applies to law enforcement, fire, ambulance, emergency, towing and recovery services personnel. Authorities say many are unaware that this law also applies to tow trucks.
If you're caught not obeying the Move Over Law, it's a misdemeanor offense causing 4 points on your license and a $150 fine.
If you cause an injury or death, that can be up to 15 years in prison and a $7,500 fine.