Michigan reports 1,156 cases of COVID-19 and 6 deaths linked to the virus on Saturday

On Saturday, Feb. 27, 2021, the state of Michigan reported 1,156 cases of COVID-19 and 68 deaths linked to the virus.The deaths announced today include 62 deaths identified during a Vital Records review.

That brings Michigan's total to 587,581 cases and 15,522 deaths.

As evidence piles up about the U.S. lacking a sufficient number of vaccines, Michigan released its own preliminary plan for distributing doses around the state. It also confirmed it would be receiving an extra 60,000 doses from CVS and Walgreens as a stopgap so local health departments can continue inoculating elderly residents and essential workers. 

On Monday, Jan. 11, the state began rolling out more vaccines to people over the age of 65, teachers, police, and more essential workers. In Michigan, every county is in charge of setting up appointments and distributing the vaccine as the supply from Pfizer and Moderna grows.

Most counties have said they don't have the supply necessary but both pharmaceutical companies are working to create and ship more of the doses to every state.

COVID POSITIVITY RATES AT LOWEST IN FOUR MONTHS

Michigan's efforts to stop the virus since November when the second wave of infections overwhelmed hospitals have proven successful. During a press conference on Feb. 17, chief medical executive Dr. Joneigh Khaldoun said the state's positivity rate was at 3.9%, the lowest rate of new infections tracked by Michigan health officials since October. 

She also announced that Michigan is at 113 cases per million, down 85% from the most recent peak in mid-November. 

Additionally, only 5.2% of hospital beds are being used for COVID-19 patients, down 79% from Dec. 1. 

As more vaccines become available, the state plans to use the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Social Vulnerability Index to better allocate where doses should go. Among growing groups getting the jab are essential workers like those employed in public transportation and at grocery stores, as well as educators in K-12 environments. 

COVID-19 VARIANT

Khaldun said that, while numbers are going in the right direction, there is much concern about the new variant as 154 cases of the B117 COVID variant have been identified. 

Medical experts say the variant is much more contagious than the strains we saw last spring and fall. 

The University of Michigan announced that it would be suspending all athletics for two weeks after a student tested positive for the new COVID variant. 

GOV. WHITMER CALLS FOR IN-PERSON LEARNING OPTION BY MARCH 1

Gov. Gretchen Whitmer and the state health department announced Friday they are strongly encouraging school districts to offer in-person learning to pre-k12 students by March 1.

The state said its goal is to have all districts in the state offering learning in the classroom by no later than the beginning of March. 

The governor's encouragement comes after she announced plans to move Michigan into phase 2 of its vaccine administration, which makes educators like teachers eligible for inoculation.

MICHIGAN VACCINATION PHASES

Gov. Gretchen Whitmer announced Wednesday that the state is moving on to its next phase of distributing the COVID-19 vaccine. This means Michiganders over 65, frontline workers, essential first responders, and teachers will be eligible to get the shot beginning Jan. 11, 2021. 

All counties may begin vaccinating residents over age 65 and seniors are urged to visit Michigan.gov/COVIDVaccine to find local health departments and other local vaccine clinics near them that are ready to book appointments.

Eligible essential workers, teachers and childcare workers will be notified by their employers about vaccine clinic dates and locations. Eligible individuals should not go to any of the clinics without an appointment. 

Phases are as follows: 

Phase 1A: Paid and unpaid persons serving in healthcare settings who have the potential for direct or indirect exposure to patients or infectious materials and are unable to work from home as well as residents in long term care facilities. 

Phase 1B: Persons 75 years of age or older and frontline essential workers in critical infrastructure.

Phase 1C: Individuals 16 years of age or older at high risk of severe illness due to COVID-19 infection and some other essential workers whose position impacts life, safety and protection during the COVID-19 response.

Phase 2: Individuals 16 years of age or older.

CONTACT TRACING

Michigan officials are also urging people to download the MI COVID Alert app to help notify of possible exposure and with contact tracing. 

Authorities are still urging everyone to answer their phones if you get a call from the health department. Text messages are also now being sent in advance of the incoming call. 

Meanwhile, everyone is also still reminded to keep doing the basics to stay healthy - wear a mask, wash your hands and keep your distance from other people.

PREVIOUS DAILY COVID-19 CASE COUNTS AND DEATHS

  • Friday, Feb. 26 - 1,073 cases, 1 death
  • Thursday, Feb. 25 - 1,388 cases, 48 deaths (30 from a review of vital records)
  • Wednesday, Feb. 24 - 1,245 cases, 9 deaths
  • Tuesday, Feb. 23 - 1,316 cases, 34 deaths (18 from a review of vital records)
  • Monday, Feb. 22 - 1,484 cases, 3 deaths over two days
  • Saturday, Feb. 20 - 635 cases, 63 deaths (57 from a review of vital records)
  • Friday, Feb. 19 -1,193 cases, 23 deaths
  • Thursday, Feb. 18 - 888 cases, 85 deaths (72 from a review of vital records)
  • Wednesday, Feb. 17 - 939 cases, 11 deaths 
  • Tuesday, Feb. 16 - 775 cases, 19 deaths 
  • Monday, Feb. 15 - 1,265 cases, 8 deaths over two days
  • Saturday, Feb. 13 - 852 cases, 88 deaths (84 from a review of vital records)
  • Friday, Feb. 12 - 1,193 cases, 10 deaths 
  • Thursday, Feb. 11 - 1,284 cases, 75 (55 from a review of vital records)
  • Wednesday, Feb. 10 - 915 cases, 12 deaths 
  • Tuesday, Feb. 9 - 563 cases, 60 deaths (31 from a review of vital records)
  • Monday, Feb. 8 - 1,769 cases, 11 deaths over two days
  • Saturday, Feb. 6 - 1,018 cases, 97 deaths (82 from a review of vital records)
  • Friday, Feb. 5 - 1,379 cases, 19 deaths
  • Thursday, Feb. 4 - 1,358 cases, 74 deaths (63 from a review of vital records)
  • Wednesday, Feb. 3 - 1,383 cases, 32 deaths
  • Tuesday, Feb. 2 - 1,203 cases, 63 deaths (36 from a review of vital records)
  • Monday, Feb. 1 - 2,066 cases, 8 deaths over two days as the state does not report data on Sundays
  • Saturday, Jan. 29 - 1,358 cases, 104 deaths (93 from a review of vital records)
  • Friday, Jan. 29 - 1,774 cases, 6 deaths
  • Thursday, Jan. 28 - 1,872 cases, 80 deaths (67 from a review of vital records)
  • Wednesday, Jan. 27 - 1,681 cases, 6 deaths 
  • Tuesday, Jan. 26 - 1,476 cases, 79 deaths (44 from a review of vital records)
  • Monday, Jan. 25 - 3,011 cases, 35 deaths over two days as the state does not report data on Sundays
  • Saturday, Jan. 23 - 1,601 cases, 221 deaths (205 from a review of vital records)
  • Friday, Jan. 22 - 2,157 cases, 17 deaths
  • Thursday, Jan. 21 -  2,165 cases, 148 deaths (128 from a review of vital records)
  • Wednesday, Jan. 20 - 2,031 cases, 40 deaths 
  • Tuesday, Jan. 19 - 1,738 cases, 41 deaths 
  • Monday, Jan. 18 -  2,843 cases, 20 deaths over two days as the state no longer reports data on Sundays
  • Saturday, Jan. 16 - 1,932 cases, 103 (90 from vital records review) 
  • Friday, Jan. 15- 2,598 cases, 29 deaths
  • Wednesday, Jan. 13 - 2,694 cases, 32 deaths 
  • Tuesday, Jan. 12 - 1,994 cases, 100 deaths (50 from vital records review)
  • Monday, Jan. 11 - 4,536 cases, 47 deaths over two days
  • Saturday, Jan. 9 - 2,706 cases, 222 deaths (206 from vital records review)
  • Friday, Jan. 8 - 3,625 cases, 38 deaths 
  • Thursday, Jan. 7 - 4,015 cases, 176 more deaths (138 from vital records review)