Michigan reports 228 cases of COVID-19 and 0 deaths on Friday

On Friday, July 2, 2021, Michigan reported 101 cases of COVID-19 and 0 deaths. The state said it made corrections to provisional case data that removed 4 deaths from the state's total.

This brings the total to 894,957 cases and 19,754 deaths.

Last Thursday, Gov. Gretchen Whitmer announced all COVID-19 restrictions including mask requirements and social distancing for people not vaccinated will be lifted on Tuesday, June 22.

Vaccines and testing for the coronavirus continue to be readily available to anyone who wants them. So far, the state reports 61.4% of the population has gotten at least its first dose of protection. 

The gold standard for vaccination rates is Leelanau County, where 75.5% of the jurisdiction has been covered. The northern Michigan area is home to Traverse City and a lot of vacation homes.

President Joe Biden plans to visit the city this week to celebrate the area's COVID-19 protection. 

Where to get a COVID-19 vaccine near you

There are currently three different vaccines that have been approved by the FDA: Pfizer, Moderna, and Johnson & Johnson. The three vaccines do not guarantee you won't be sick but all three have high efficacy rates in preventing serious illness and decrease the chances of hospitalization if you do get ill with COVID-19.

Simply putting your name on the county list is one way to get a vaccine, eventually, but there are ways you can be proactive to find a vaccine faster.

Contact tracing

Michigan officials are also urging people to download the MI COVID Alert app to help notify of possible exposure and with contact tracing. 

Authorities are still urging everyone to answer their phones if you get a call from the health department. Text messages are also now being sent in advance of the incoming call. 

Meanwhile, everyone is also still reminded to keep doing the basics to stay healthy - wear a mask, wash your hands and keep your distance from other people.

PREVIOUS DAILY COVID-19 CASE COUNTS AND DEATHS

  • Thursday, July 1 - 228 cases, 10 deaths
  • Wednesday, June 30 - 195 cases, 4 deaths
  • Tuesday, June 29 - 173 cases, 32 deaths
  • Monday, June 28 - 311 cases, 5 deaths
  • Thursday, June 24 - 153 cases, 28 deaths
  • Tuesday, June 22 - 91 cases, 15 deaths
  • Monday, June 21 - 327 cases, 35 deaths over three days
  • Friday, June 18 - 162 cases, 14 deaths
  • Wednesday, June 16 - 179 cases, 4 deaths
  • Tuesday, June 15 - 182 cases, 26 deaths
  • Monday, June 14 - 338 cases, 8 deaths over two days
  • Wednesday, June 9 - 257 cases of COVID-19 and 7 deaths
  • Tuesday, June 8 - 293 cases, 56 deaths (37 from vital records review)
  • Monday, June 7 - 419 cases, 11 deaths over two days
  • Saturday, June 5 - 388 cases, 72 deaths (66 from vital records review)
  • Thursday, June 3 - 510 cases, 57 deaths (62 from vital records review)
  • Wednesday, June 2 - 420 cases, 33 deaths
  • Tuesday, June 1 - 862 cases, 13 deaths over three days
  • Saturday, May 30 - 445 cases, 49 deaths (48 from vital records review)
  • Friday, May 29 - 614 cases, 24 deaths
  • Thursday, May 27 - 542 cases, 59 deaths (48 from vital records review)
  • Wednesday, May 26 - 799 cases, 12 deaths
  • Tuesday, May 25 - 739 cases, 66 deaths (31 from vital records review)
  • Monday, May 24 - 1,378 cases, 14 deaths over two days
  • Saturday, May 22 -  1,013 cases. 86 deaths
  • Friday, May 21 - 1,132 cases, 38 deaths
  • Thursday, May 20 - 1,372 cases, 74 deaths (61 from vital records review)
  • Wednesday, May 19 - 1,560 cases, 31 deaths
  • Tuesday, May 18 - 1,271, 83 deaths (27 from vital records review)
  • Monday, May 17 - 2,230 cases, 20 deaths over two days
  • Friday, May 14 - 1,766 cases, 33 deaths
  • Thursday, May 13 - 2,057 cases, 112 deaths (73 from vital records review)
  • Wednesday, May 12 - 2,171 cases, 17 deaths
  • Tuesday, May 11 - 1,992 cases, 99 deaths (32 from vital records review)
  • Monday, May 10 - 2,716 cases, 33 deaths over two days
  • Saturday, May 8 - 1,825 cases, 122 deaths (83 from vital records review)
  • Friday, May 7 - 2,758 cases, 30 deaths
  • Thursday, May 6 - 3,514 cases, 115 deaths (92 from vital records review)
  • Wednesday, May 5 - 2,589 cases,, 42 deaths