Michigan reports 1,825 cases of COVID-19 on Saturday, 39 new deaths

On Saturday, May 8, 2021, the state of Michigan reported 1,825 confirmed cases of COVID-19 and 122 deaths linked to the virus. The deaths announced today include 83 deaths identified during a Vital Records review.

That brings the total to 862,633 cases and 18,206 deaths.

The state of Michigan's vaccine dashboard reports that more than 4.1 million residents have received their first dose of the vaccine. That's 51.2% of the state's adult population. To reach the next level in the lifting of mandates, Gov. Gretchen Whitmer said 55% of residents should receive the first dose.

The governor's office is urging people to maintain masks and social distancing until 70% of the population is vaccinated. 

Mask order for outdoor gatherings with fewer than 100

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services announced that masks will "generally" not be required outdoors if a gathering has fewer than 100 people. 

Tuesday’s announcement said the latest order goes into effect Thursday, May 6 through May 31. 

MDHHS said that anyone fully vaccinated and not experiencing symptoms, is not required to wear a mask at residential gatherings, including indoors. 

Vaccine benchmarks to be used to alter restrictions

The Michigan health department has outlined four vaccine benchmarks that once reached, will trigger relaxations in epidemic orders currently in place in the state.

Two weeks after 55% of the state has gotten its first vaccine shot, it will allow all in-person work in all sectors of business to return. At 60%, it will increase indoor capacity at stadiums and lift curfews at restaurants. At 65%, all indoor capacity limits will be lifted and then at 70%, it will lift gathering and face mask orders.

Where to get a COVID-19 vaccine near you

There are currently three different vaccines that have been approved by the FDA: Pfizer, Moderna, and Johnson & Johnson. The three vaccines do not guarantee you won't be sick but all three have high efficacy rates in preventing serious illness and decrease the chances of hospitalization if you do get ill with COVID-19.

Simply putting your name on the county list is one way to get a vaccine, eventually, but there are ways you can be proactive to find a vaccine faster.

Contact tracing

Michigan officials are also urging people to download the MI COVID Alert app to help notify of possible exposure and with contact tracing. 

Authorities are still urging everyone to answer their phones if you get a call from the health department. Text messages are also now being sent in advance of the incoming call. 

Meanwhile, everyone is also still reminded to keep doing the basics to stay healthy - wear a mask, wash your hands and keep your distance from other people.

PREVIOUS DAILY COVID-19 CASE COUNTS AND DEATHS

  • Friday, May 7 - 2,758 case, 30 deaths
  • Thursday, May 6 - 3,514 cases, 115 deaths (92 from vital records review)
  • Wednesday, May 5 - 2,589 cases,, 42 deaths
  • Tuesday, May 4 - 2,527 cases, 126 deaths (51 from vital records review)
  • Monday, May 3 - 5,035 cases, 29 deaths
  • Saturday, May 1 - 3,431 cases, 131 deaths (98 from vital records review)
  • Friday, April 30 - 3,440 cases, 36 deaths
  • Thursday, April 29 - 3,623 cases, 109 deaths (78 from vital records review)
  • Wednesday, April 28 - 4,371 cases, 38 deaths
  • Tuesday, April 27 - 3,676 cases, 105 deaths (48 from vital records review)
  • Monday, April 26 - 6,524 cases, 35 deaths over two days
  • Saturday, April 24 - 4,698 cases, 121 deaths (91 from vital records review)
  • Friday, April 23 - 5,031 cases, 29 deaths
  • Thursday, April 22 - 4,867 cases, 108 deaths (75 from vital records review)
  • Wednesday, April 21 - 5,584 cases, 45 deaths
  • Tuesday, April 20 -- 5,259 cases, 85 deaths (33 from vital records review)
  • Monday, April 19 - 8,574 cases, 61 over two days
  • Saturday, April 17 - 5,530 cases 69 deaths (60 from vital records review)
  • Friday, April 16 - 8,995 cases, 40 deaths
  • Thursday, April 15 - 6,303 cases, 112 deaths (85 from vital records review)
  • Wednesday, April 14 - 7,955 cases, 35 deaths
  • Tuesday, April 13 - 8,867 cases, 74 deaths (37 from vital records review)
  • Monday, April 12 - 9,674 cases 12 deaths over two days
  • Saturday, April 10 - 6,892 cases, 74 deaths (57 from vital records review)
  • Friday, April 9 -7,834 cases, 23 deaths
  • Thursday, April 8 -  7,819 cases, 73 deaths (43 from vital records review)
  • Wednesday, April 7 - 8,015 cases, 30 deaths
  • Tuesday, April 6 - 4,964 cases, 58 deaths (16 from vital records review)
  • Monday, April 5 - 10,292 cases, 21 deaths
  • Saturday, April 3 - 8,413 cases, 57 deaths (51 from vital records review)
  • Friday, April 2 - 5,498 cases, 20 deaths
  • Thursday, April 1 -  6,036 cases, 49 deaths (33 from vital records review)
  • Wednesday, March 31 - 6,311 cases, 10 deaths
  • Tuesday, March 30 - 5,177 cases, 48 deaths (20 from vital records review)
  • Monday, March 29 - 8,202 cases, 8 deaths over two days
  • Saturday, March 27 - 4,670 cases, 22 deaths (29 from vital records review)
  • Friday, March 26 - 5,030 cases, 20 deaths
  • Thursday, March 25 - 5,224 cases, 49 deaths (30 from a review of vital records)
  • Wednesday, March 24 - 4,454 cases, 16 deaths
  • Tuesday, March 23 - 3,579 cases, 16 deaths (8 from a review of vital records)
  • Monday, March 22 - 4,801 cases, 6 deaths over two days
  • Saturday, March 20 - 2,660 cases, 47 deaths (39 from a review of vital records)
  • Friday, March 19 - 3730 cases, 15 deaths
  • Thursday, March 18 - 2,629 cases, 25 deaths (24 from a review of vital records)
  • Wednesday, March 17 - 3,164 cases, 0 deaths
  • Tuesday, March 16 - 2,048 cases, 27 deaths
  • Monday, March 15 -- 3,143 cases, 9 deaths
  • Saturday, March 13 --  1,659 cases, 38 deaths (30 from a review of vital records)
  • Friday, March 12 ---2,403 cases, 7 deaths
  • Thursday, March 11 -- 2,091 cases, 23 deaths (16 from a review of vital records)
  • Wednesday, March 10 -- 2,316 cases, 7 deaths